From Our Staff | August 01, 2013

When I go out to eat and can’t make up my mind about what to order, I usually go with a hamburger. Can’t go wrong there. Actually, you can. But stay with me. Good ol’ fashioned delicious American hamburgers at most establishments give you a variety of toppings that you can add: tomato (yes!), lettuce (yes!), onions (sometimes!) and usually a choice of cheese. But you almost always have to pay a little bit extra for bacon. Which I understand. Bacon = tasty.

This month, we’re adding bacon.

The submission period for our annual 23rd Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize is now open. Last year’s winner in nonfiction, Terry Ann Thaxton, discussed how thrilling this award was to her, even though she considered herself a poet first and foremost. Naturally, we asked the poet who won, Katie Bickham, for her thoughts as well. The entry fee of $20 includes a year-long, 4-issue subscription.Winners in each genre receive $5,000, plus a featured publication in our spring 2013 issue—making this one of the top literary prizes in the country. Three finalists in each genre will also receive awards and be considered for publication.

To entice you further to send us your best work for consideration, we would like to offer you an additional issue of The Missouri Review at no extra cost if you submit your entry during the month of August.

To take advantage of our special offer, simply submit your entry during the month of August, choose to receive digital delivery of your subscription, and your will automatically receive a fifth issue for free. That’s it! That’s all you have to do! Our digital issue, readable on all mobile devices such as the iPad and Kindle—includes the audio version of the magazine, allowing you to hear every poem, story, and essay performed by either the author or a professional reader.

It would be super smart to read our full contest guidelines and then you should absolutely submit your contest entry by mail or online. As always, please feel free to contact us via email at  if you have any questions.

Follow Michael on Twitter: @mpnye