From Our Soundbooth | May 28, 2014


Please join us in congratulating the winners and runners-up of this year’s audio competition!  Winners were selected in collaboration with our guest judge, independent producer, engineer, and musician Brendan Baker. Stay tuned for these pieces to be released as featured podcasts on TMR‘s Soundbooth in August and September.

1st place in Poetry: “Diary of Collected Summers” by Sam Roderick Roxas-Chua

          Runner-up in Poetry: poems by Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie

1st place in Prose: Steve De Jarnatt’s short story “Eggtooth”

          Runner-up in Prose: Joshua Wheeler’s radio essay “Ugly Pew”

1st place in Audio Documentary: Abby Wendle and Sarah Geis for “To be Normal”

          Runner-up in Audio Documentary: Diane Hope for “Lonely Nights”

Special thanks to judge Brendan Baker; Contest Assistant Editor Tyler Talbott; our amazing contest interns Anne Barngrover, Morgan Denlow, and Brandon Grammer; and the rest of the TMR staff. It was another great year for submissions, and they were a pleasure to listen to. If you didn’t place this year, we hope you will consider submitting in 2015, and again, a big congratulations to our winners!