From Our Staff | May 16, 2013







We are pleased to announce our winners of this years audio competition!  Winners were selected in collaboration with guest judge Laura Starecheski of NPR’s State of the Re:Union.  Stay tuned for these pieces to be released as featured podcasts on TMR’s website in the early fall.


1st place: Laurel Bastian for her entry “We All Want Out of this Play”

Runner-up: Henry Finch for his poem “Key Largo”


1st place: Anna Vodicka for her entry “In Search of Magic Kingdoms”

Audio Documentary

1st place: “The Storm” Produced by Kenny Malone with the WLRN-Miami Herald News team

Runner-up: “Teen Contender” Produced by Joe Richman, Sue Jaye Johnson and Samara Freemark, Edited by Deborah George and Ben Shapiro with Marianne McCune

Special thanks to Laura Starecheski; my contest co-editor Claire McQuerry, our fantastic contest interns Sarah Dettmer, Becca Sakin, and Danny Miller; and to the rest of the TMR staff (especially contest assistant Maura Lammers).  We had more entrants this year than ever before, and a fantastic variety of strong work was submitted that made the selection of winners all the more difficult.  If you didn’t place this year, we hope you will consider submitting in 2014!