From Our Staff | June 04, 2012

Our most recent issue features the winners of our 21st Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize: poetry by David Kirby, an essay by Peter Selgin, and a story by Yuko Sakata. The issue has been out for a few weeks now, so you probably already know this and have already read the issue. And if you haven’t, well, goodness, go here and get yourself a copy.

What you may or may not know is that we are now open for Editors’ Prize entries for this year’s contest. Our deadline remains the same – October 1st – but as a previous winner of our Editors’ Prize, Jacob Appel, once argued in an article about contests in Poets & Writers, entering early is a good thing.

We agree!  The submission period for our annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editor’s Prize is now open. To entice you further, we would like to offer you an additional issue of The Missouri Review at no extra cost if you submit your entry during the month of June.  Winners in each genre receive $5,000, plus a featured publication in our spring 2013 issue—making this one of the top literary prizes in the country. Three finalists in each genre will also receive awards and be considered for publication.

The entry fee of $20 includes a year-long, 4-issue subscription. To take advantage of our special offer, simply submit your entry during the month of June and your subscription will automatically be upgraded to include a fifth issue, in digital format, for free. You may choose to receive the rest of your subscription in print or digital format. Our digital issue includes full access to our print version, readable on all mobile devices such as the iPad and Kindle—plus the audio version of the magazine, allowing you to hear every poem, story, and essay performed by either the author or a professional reader. Head over to our audio page to hear a few of this terrific recordings, such as this ditty by Austin Bunn to get a feel for it.

It would be super smart to read our full contest guidelines and then you should absolutely submit your contest entry by mail or online. As always, please feel free to contact us via email at  if you have any questions.

Follow Michael on Twitter: @mpnye