Uncategorized | September 28, 2004

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation announced its annual so-called “genius grants” today, and though we here at The Missouri Review are disappointed that none of our in-house geniuses were recognized this year (there’s always next year!), we are pleased to see a trio of writers among the 23 recipients of the $500,000, no-strings-attached prizes. They include fiction writer Edward P. Jones, author of The Known World, winner of both this year’s Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction; Aleksandar Hemon, a native of Sarajevo and author of the short story collection, The Question of Bruno, and the novel-in-stories, Nowhere Man; and poet C.D. Wright, best known for her poems of her native Arkansas.