Uncategorized | February 01, 2005

The finalists for this year’s National Book Critics Circle Award in fiction and poetry have been announced. The nominees in fiction include The Dew Breaker (Knopf), by Edwidge Danticat; The Line of Beauty (Bloomsbury), by Alan Hollinghurst; Cloud Atlas (Random House), by David Mitchell; Gilead (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), by Marilynne Robinson; and The Plot Against America (Houghton Mifflin), by Philip Roth. Earlier this year, Hollinghurst won the Booker Prize for The Line of Beauty.

The poetry nominees include Brigit Pegeen Kelly’s The Orchard (BOA Editions), D.A. Powell’s Cocktails (Graywolf), Adrienne Rich’s The School Among the Ruins (Norton), James Richardson’s Interglacial (Ausable Pr.), and Gary Snyder’s Danger on Peaks (Shoemaker & Hoard).

Winners will be announced March 18. Last year’s winners were Edward P. Jones in fiction for The Known World and Susan Stewart in poetry for Columbarium.