From Our Staff | February 01, 2011

Last week, author Lisa Nikolidakis wrote and asked us to withdraw her story “Home” from consideration for the 20th Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize. Our editorial staff is honoring her request. Consequently, our new prize winner in fiction is Anna Solomon for her short story “The Long Net.” Congratulations, Anna!

Anna’s debut novel, The Little Bride, is forthcoming from Riverhead Books in fall 2011. Her fiction has appeared in One Story, The Georgia Review, The Harvard Review, Shenandoah, Alaska Quarterly Review, and in many other wonderful magazines. Her story, “Lotto,” which first published in The Georgia Review, received a Pushcart Prize in 2009. A graduate of Brown University and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, she has received residencies at MacDowell, Yaddo, and BreadLoaf. Anna lives with her husband and daughter in Providence, Rhode Island.

The spring 2011 issue will feature our Editors’ Prize winners – Anna in fiction, George Looney in poetry, and John Hales for nonfiction – as well as new fiction by Erin Flanagan and Jennifer DuBois; poetry by Nadine Meyer and Josh Booton, and so much more. This terrific issue should be out in April, just a few short weeks away!

Michael Nye is the managing editor of The Missouri Review.