From Our Staff | October 23, 2007

We’re delighted to announce that Seth Fried is the winner of this year’s William Peden Prize in Fiction. Seth’s winning story, “The Siege,” appeared in the Winter 2006 (Vol 29 #4) issue of The Missouri Review and was selected by outside judge, Nancy Zafris, fiction editor of The Kenyon Review.

The editors award the William Peden Prize annually to the best fiction story to appear in the previous volume year. The winner will receive a $1,000 check and travel to Columbia to attend a reading/reception in his honor. The event is hosted by our generous friends at First National Bank downtown and will be Monday, October 29 at 6 p.m. The public is invited, so if you’re in the neighborhood. . .

The prize is named in honor of Bill Peden, one of the founding editors of The Missouri Review. Previous winners include Ellen Akins, Andrea Barrett, Robert Olen Butler and Wally Lamb.

[Read “The Siege” here.]  Seth Fried